top of page

Dave Jackson (Inducted in 2017)

How long have you been riding (or have ridden), and how old are you now?  
I started riding when I was 12 years old. Riding was off and on back then, My parents really didn’t want me to ride. My Dad told me I should play tennis, something that I would be good at with one arm. I like tennis, but riding motorcycles is my favorite sport or activity. I've been riding bikes for about 35 years. I am 57 years old now.

How did you get started riding / racing? 
The neighbor kids had bikes, and a guy down the road raced motocross, so I was always asking my Dad to get me a bike. One day I was practicing riding wheelies on the road with my bicycle and dad came home with a Yamaha 60. I was the happiest kid that day!  My Dad only took me to a couple races when I was 15 and I was hooked, but he thought it was too dangerous. He took me to a National Observed Trials event and after seeing that I wanted to give that a try. I rode Trials for about 10 years, and then decided to compete at the Nationals in 1988. In 1989 I finished 3rd in the +30 class. I rode a few nationals in 1990 and then got out of that sport to water ski, another one of my favorite sports.  

How long have you been (or were) an expert? 
I never have been able to go fast enough with one arm to compete at the Expert level at Motocross. I've tried to get to that level, but could never get there. I have a lot of respect for those riders - awesome talent.

All-time favorite bike?  
My favorite bike in the 2-stroke days was a Yamaha YZ250, and my favorite 4-stroke is a 2016 Kawasaki KX450.

What was your first motorcycle?  
A Yamaha 60.

What is your favorite music? 
The new country music.

What is your favorite food? 
My favorite food is anything healthy.

How do you (or did you) train for motocross?  
Eat healthy, mountain biking, road bike riding, and the normal gym stuff. I've learned that being on the bike is the best training. You feel like you are one with the bike.

What motivates you?  
Riding is my favorite thing to do.  I also like to be in shape - I feel great after riding.

CNC machinist/tool maker.

Other interests? 
I like working on my bike, getting it working for me with one arm. I got a Trials bike last year, and I am having a lot of fun riding Trials again.

Greatest accomplishment?  
3rd in 1989 at the Nationals (observed trials) +30 class.


Biggest letdown?  

My ex wanting a divorce.

Any regrets?  
No not really, I've had a really good life.

Who are your heroes?  
Ricky Carmichael. 

Who is the last person who made you feel nervous?  
I get nervous talking in front of crowds, and that’s about it.

What's the best part about racing motocross?  

The challenge, and making new friends.


What would you change about our sport/district?  

I would like to see both organizations in western New York get back to one. It would be better for the sport of Motocross in western New York, and better for the tracks and the riders.

Who are (were) your sponsors?  Kawasaki, OPE Kawasaki, Dunlop, Mx-Tech, Twin Air, Works Connection,and Gaerne.

Who would you like to thank?  Kawasaki, OPE Kawasaki, Dunlop, Mx-Tech, Twin Air,Works Connection, Gaerne, and Mike Komer from the Trials Shop .

Words of wisdom?  Be a good person, live a healthy lifestyle, work hard, play hard. Life is short, enjoy your time here.

bottom of page